Lancaster District Design Awards - 2016 Winners

November 02, 2016 - 9:00am

Lancaster District Design Awards - 2016 Winners

Inaugurated in 1986 as a part of a national initiative called Time for Design, the Lancaster District Design Award scheme has run for 30 years.  In that period it has recognised nearly 200 schemes and projects in the District, ranging from major new build and restoration projects to landscaping work and small improvements.

The chief criterion for the awards is design quality in the built environment.  The awards give recognition to schemes, both public and private, whose external design and appearance add to the attractiveness of the Lancaster District. Not only are the winners recognised, but there are also commendation awards.

Over the years the scheme has recognised a varied list of buildings, including some quite small ones.  We have tried to make sure that it doesn't just reward big or expensive schemes.  A special feature is that the awards and commendations go to the owners and the  builders of the schemes as well as the architects  -  it is not just an architects' scheme, like the Stirling Prize and similar things.

The Design Awards scheme is sponsored by Lancaster & District Chamber of Commerce, North Lancashire, Lancaster Civic Society, Chamber of Commerce, and Lancaster Institute for the Contemporary Arts.  The scheme runs in alternate years, so the next round of Lancaster District Design Awards will take place in 2018.

(Attached: Photo – caption “The Mayor Of Lancaster, Cllr. Robert Redfern with the Winners and Commendations, Lancaster Design Awards, 2016” – photos courtesy of Nick Dagger Photography).

Full list of awards and commendations


Uggle House, Lancaster

Owner: Mr Lawson Spedding

Architect: JMP Architects, Lancaster

Builder: Branstone Beck Developments

Slackwood Barn and Dairy, Silverdale

Owner: Adrian and Angela Waddingham

Architect: Blackett-Ord Conservation Architecture and Engineering.

Builder: R.T. Griffin Ltd.

Engineering Building, Lancaster University

Owner: Lancaster University

Architect: John McAslan + Partners

Builder: Eric Wright construction

Aldcliffe Yard, Aldcliffe Road, Lancaster

Owner:            H20 Partnership

Architect:         PRP Architects

Builder:            CPUK Group

Slackwood Farm, Silverdale

Owner: Adrian and Angela Waddingham

Architect: Paul Archer Design

Builder: Warden Construction Ltd

Escala, near Carnforth

Owner: Mr and Mrs Dodd

Architect: Mason Gillibrand Architects

Builder: R N Woolers & Co Ltd

Gabriel Cottage, Tunstall, Lancaster

Owner: Mr Jon Wilkinson

Architect: Sunderland Peacock Architects, Clitheroe

Builder: J C Quality Construction


St Peter’s Church Hall, Heysham, Lancaster

Owner: St Peter’s Church Parochial Church Council

Architect: Harrison Pitt Architects, Lancaster

Builder: TCL Developments Ltd

St Paul’s Church, Caton with Littledale, Lancaster

Owner: Caton with Littledale Parochial Church Council

Architect: Chris Rushton, Lakes Architect Limited

Builder: Holden Contracting Limited

Landscape improvements, Williamson Park, Lancaster

Owner: Lancaster City Council – Williamson Park

Landscape team: Lancaster City Council Environmental Services

Contractor: Lancaster City Council Environmental Services

Darwen House, Bolton-le-Sands, Lancaster

Owner: Mal Garnett

Architect: Harrison Pitt Architects

Builder: Jigsaw PFM

Former Tramway Hotel, St Leonardgate, Lancaster

Owner: Mustaq Mister

Architect: Michael A Harrison

Builder: A B Services Northern Ltd

Glazed screen to tower, St John’s Church, Silverdale

Owner: Parochial Church Council, St John’s Church, Silverdale

Architect: Blackett-Ord Conservation Architecture and Engineering.

Artist: Sarah Galloway

11 Damside, Damside Street, Lancaster

Owner: Miaccom Ltd

Architect: Bywater Tweedale Architects

Builder: Holmere Projects

Photography Courtesy of Nick Dagger